The Cresswell Award was established by the John C. Stennis Center for Public Service to honor an exceptional staff leader on Capitol Hill. It is named for Eph Cresswell, the long-time administrative assistant/chief of staff to U.S. Senator John C. Stennis, who also served as Chairman of the Stennis Center Board of Trustees for 20 years.


William E. “Eph” Cresswell
Congressional Staff Leadership Award


AWARD: The William E. “Eph” Cresswell Congressional Staff Leadership Award, established by the Board of Trustees of the Stennis Center for Public Service, will recognize and honor an exceptional congressional staff leader each year. The award is named for William E. “Eph” Cresswell who served as Administrative Assistant and Chief of Staff for U.S. Senator John C. Stennis (MS) from 1958 to 1989. His leadership was highly regarded by Members of Congress and staff colleagues who valued his keen intellect, integrity, and commitment to Congress. Eph Cresswell also served as Chairman of the Stennis Center for Public Service Board of Trustees from 1989-2010, during the establishment of on-going programs to provide leadership development opportunities for congressional staff leaders.

SELECTION CRITERIA: The award honors a congressional staff member who has demonstrated the ideals of patriotism, integrity, and leadership through public service that have characterized the life and career of Eph Cresswell. The award will recognize individuals who have provided exceptional staff leadership that has helped strengthen Congress as an institution of American democracy.

ELIGIBILITY: Nominees must be congressional staff members currently serving who have at least ten years of experience in Congress. Nominees will be chosen based on the following criteria:

1. Demonstrated a strong, sustained commitment to public service in the United States Congress.
2. Recognized as an effective leader by colleagues and Members of Congress.
3. Has earned a reputation for working across party lines to find common ground.

NOMINATION: Nominations will be accepted from Senior John C. Stennis Congressional Staff Fellows and from Members of Congress. Nominations should be made in the form of a letter to the selection committee addressing the nominees’ qualifications for the award.

SELECTION PANEL: A bipartisan Selection Committee comprised of seven Senior Stennis Fellows will review the nominations and select an award recipient. The Executive Director of the Stennis Center will convene the selection committee and serve as an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Committee.