Program Contact

If you have questions about the program please contact:

Brother Rogers
Phone: (662) 325-8409

Other Programs

Bookmark Print E-mail

Past Events

Programs >> Women's Leadership Initiatives >> Lindy Boggs Award >> Jimmie Lou Fisher, 2008
Jimmie Lou Fisher, 2008

Jimmie Lou Fisher began her career as Arkansas State treasurer in January 1981, succeeding Nancy Hall. Since that time, she served three two-year terms as state treasurer and three four-year terms. She was the Democratic nominee for governor in 2002. Fisher began her career in public service in 1971, serving as treasurer of Greene County until 1978. She was ap pointed by then Governor Bill Clinton to the position of State Auditor in February 1979, before being elected state treasurer.

A 1985 graduate of the Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government, Fisher served as the 1990 president of the National Association of State Treasurers. In 1995, Fisher served as a delegate to the White House Conference on Aging and was appointed to the United States Rural Telephone Commission.

In 1979, Fisher was awarded the Arkansas Democratic Party Gressie Carnes Award. In 1989, she was awarded the George C. Douthit Schol arship Trust Outstanding Women in Politics Award and the Arkansas Professional Women of Distinction Award from Worthen Bank's Pro­fessional Women's Advisory Board. The National Association of State Treasurers honored Fisher in 1991 with the Jesse Unruh Award. She was a 1992 recipient of the National Association of Democratic Women Outstanding Elected Democratic Women Holding Public Office Award. In 1995, she was honored with the Nancy J. Hall Award by the Arkan sas Federation of Democratic Women. In 1997, she was the Arkansas Easter Seal "Arkansan of the Year" and in 1997, 1998, and 1999 she was in the "Top 100 Women in Arkansas."

In addition to her work serving Arkansas as state treasurer, Fisher has served as a delegate to the Democratic National Convention twice and served two terms as a member of the Democratic National Commit tee. She also served as president of the Arkansas Democratic Women's Club, and she served two terms as vice chairman of the Democratic State Committee. In addition to her service on these committees, she was an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees of the Arkansas Public Employees Retirement System, the Board of Trustees of the Arkansas Teacher Retirement System, and the Arkansas Development Finance Authority. She serves as member and secretary of the State Board of Finance, which makes long-term investment decisions regarding the State's money and as a member of Board of Trustees of the Arkansas State Highway Employees Retirement System.